Formula 1 SOCAR Azerbaijan Grand Prix in Baku comes to the end

Primary races of the fourth phase of the Formula 1 world championship - SOCAR Azerbaijan Grand Prix – took place, April 28. First, the parade of pilots and opening ceremony took place.

President of the Republic of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev and First Lady Mehriban Aliyeva watched the primary races of the fourth phase of the Formula 1 world championship - SOCAR Azerbaijan Grand Prix.

The grandiose opening ceremony of Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix on Azadlyg Square was remembered with interesting moments.

Both during the parade and at the anthem ceremony, pilots were accompanied by juveniles. In accord with the decision taken by Formula 1 Company and the Automobile Federation of Azerbaijan within the framework of the joint initiative called “Stars of the Future”, both during the parade and the anthem ceremony, pilots are accompanied by juveniles.

First, a cup specially made for this year’s races was presented.

The opening ceremony started by performance of the state anthem of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

The state anthem was performed in a new arrangement by famous composer Azad Veliyev. The anthem was performed together with Honoured artists of Azerbaijan Beyimkhanum Veliyeva and Nurlan Novrasli, in mugham and classical styles. They were accompanied by honoured artists – Shahriyar Imanov on tar, Kamran Kerimov on naghara, Emin Galiyev on violoncello, and Husameddin Azizov on bam-naghara.

After performing the state anthem, the primary races of Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix consisting of 51 circles started.

Ten teams, with two pilots in each, competed in the finals. According to the results of the last day’s ranking races, pilots of Mercedes team Luis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas and pilot of Ferrari team Sebastian Vettel stood at a distance closest to the start line.

The Baku track is 6 kilometres long, with total distance being 306 kilometres. The Baku track has the fastest races category. The widest section of the track is 13 metres, with the narrowest part being 7.6 metres around Icherisheher, including at the 7th and 8th turns.

At the end of the tense sports competition, pilot of the Mercedes team Valtteri Bottas gained the title of the winner of Formula 1 SOCAR Azerbaijan Grand Prix. He completed 51 circles ahead of all the pilots – for 1 hour 31 minutes and 62.942 seconds.

Winner of the last year’s Baku Grand Prix Louis Hamilton came second, with 1.524 seconds difference. Pilot of the Ferrari team Sebastian Vettel finished third, falling behind the leader with 11.739 seconds difference.

Then, a ceremony of rewarding the winners took place.

First, state anthems of Finland and Germany were performed in honour of the winner, and the team.

President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev presented the cup to Valtteri Bottas, the winner of the Grand Prix.

The President presented the Constructors Cup to a representative of the Mercedes team.

Minister of Youth and Sports Azad Rahimov presented the cup for the second place to pilot of Mercedes Louis Hamilton. President of the Automobile Federation of Azerbaijan Anar Alakbarov presented the cup for the third place to pilot of Ferrari Sebastian Vettel.